Minimum Requirements for Car Insurance in Georgia
Georgia law requires that Georgia drivers have liability insurance on all their registered vehicles and carry proof of insurance in their vehicles at all times. The minimum required insurance in Georgia include Bodily Injury Liability and Property Damage Liability. Uninsured Motorist Coverage is generally offered with your quote as well, but can be rejected in writing.
Bodily Injury Liability (BI) coverage of at least $25,000 to cover injury or death to any one person that results from an auto accident, and $50,000 to cover injuries to or death of more than one person resulting from a single auto accident.
Bodily Injury Liability pays for medical and legal protection should you or another insured on your policy cause bodily injury to another person while operating your vehicle. The “limit” is the maximum amount your insurance company will pay for bodily injury damages.
Property Damage Liability (PD) coverage of at least $25,000 to cover damage to the property of others caused by an auto accident. Property Damage Liability pays for damage to another's property caused while operating your vehicle. This covers damage to property such as vehicles, poles, fences, etc.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage (UM) pays for medical and related expenses you incur if you’re injured in a car accident and the driver who is at fault does not have liability insurance or cannot be identified. In some states, uninsured motorist coverage will help pay for expenses if the driver at fault has insurance but does not have a sufficient amount to cover your claim. This coverage can be rejected in Georgia.*
What If I Don't Have Minimum Liability Insurance in Georgia?
Going without Georgia liability insurance isn't a good idea. Without the minimum amount of liability coverage required by Georgia law, you will not be able to register your vehicle. And if you're caught driving uninsured, the consequences are far from cheap! Georgia insurance law requires that you keep valid insurance. Drive without it and you could be charged with a misdemeanor that stays on your record permanently. You may also have to appear in court, pay a fine of up to $1,000, and deal with a license suspension of 60 to 90 days. You could even end up with jail time of up to 12 months! Thankfully, Direct Auto & Life offers affordable Georgia car insurance policies with instant proof of insurance to make auto insurance coverage quick and hassle-free.
I Let My Georgia Car Insurance Lapse...
A lapse in coverage isn't as bad as driving uninsured in Georgia, but it's still not a good idea. If your insurance is terminated or expired, your insurance company will automatically notify the Department of Motor Vehicles. From that point, you have 30 days to provide proof of new insurance. If proof of insurance is received within 30 days, then all you'll need to pay is a $25 lapse fee. BUT—if you do not provide proof of insurance within 30 days, your vehicle's registration will be suspended, you'll have to pay a $25 lapse fee, plus an additional $60 reinstatement fee. And if you get caught driving with lapsed insurance and a suspended registration? As we said before, that's a misdemeanor.
Who Needs Non-Owner SR22 Insurance in Georgia?
Despite what you may think, Georgia non-owner SR22 insurance isn't actually a type of car insurance. An SR22 is a document that your insurance company files with the DMV on your behalf that says you have at least the minimum liability limits for the state of Georgia. It can be required to reinstate your suspended driver's license if you don't own a vehicle or use one regularly.
Commercial Auto Insurance in Georgia
In addition to car insurance, motorcycle insurance, and life insurance, Direct Auto & Life is proud to offer commercial auto insurance in Georgia. We insure vehicles that may be used by builders, contractors, landscapers, plumbers, farmers, realtors, ice cream vendors, and many more types of small businesses. Commercial auto insurance is typically for drivers who use their vehicle or truck to do activities related to their occupation or business (other than commute). Our commercial auto policies are competitively priced for individuals or fleets of up to 20 vehicles, with policy terms of 6 or 12 months.† Visit one of our participating offices across Georgia to purchase commercial auto insurance or give us a call at 1-877-GO-DIRECT.
Start with Cheap Insurance Quotes in Georgia
Understanding the ins and outs of car insurance in Georgia can be tough, whether you're looking to insure your everyday car or work vehicle. At Direct Auto & Life, getting the affordable auto insurance coverage you need is easy. All drivers are welcome to apply for coverage, even those who may not be accepted by other Georgia auto insurance companies. We offer free quotes for affordable auto insurance, no matter your past credit score or driving history. At Direct Auto & Life, you’ll get flexible auto insurance coverage plans to fit your needs, and easy access to agents near you, online or over the phone.
If you have questions, would like to learn more about other Georgia auto insurance options, or if you would like to get an affordable auto insurance quote, contact us: online, over the phone at 1-877-GO DIRECT, or visit one of our many office locations in Georgia.
You can also visit the following sites to learn more: Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner, Georgia Department of Driver Services, Official State of Georgia Website, or Georgia Department of Transportation.