Meet Virginia Auto Insurance Requirements
When comparing cheap auto insurance quotes in Virginia, it pays to know what you're looking at. Explore your options to make sure you’re getting the right coverage for your lifestyle and budget. Start by making sure you're comparing quotes for at least the minimum amount of car insurance required by the state. This can help make sure you're comparing "apples to apples." Virginia insurance law requires that you have liability insurance on all of your registered vehicles, even if the vehicle isn't working or being used. You must also keep proof of insurance in your vehicle(s) at all times. The minimum required insurance is:
Bodily Injury Liability coverage of at least $25,000 to cover injury or death to any one person that results from an auto accident and $50,000 to cover injuries to or death of more than one person resulting from a single auto accident.
Property Damage Liability coverage of at least $20,000 to cover damage to the property of others caused by an auto accident.
Uninsured Motorist coverage of $25,000 for bodily injury per person and coverage of $50,000 per accident, and $20,000 in property damage to cover damage coverage per accident.
What do Virginia's required coverages do? Bodily Injury Liability pays for medical and legal protection should you or another insured on your policy cause bodily injury to another person while operating your vehicle. Property Damage Liability pays for damage to another's property caused while operating your vehicle, property such as vehicles, poles, fences, etc.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage helps pay for bodily injury and, in certain states, property damage sustained by you and other passengers in your covered vehicle in an accident for which the person legally liable does not have auto liability insurance or cannot be identified. In some states, it also includes coverage for damages caused by at-fault drivers who have insufficient insurance to pay your claim.
Consider Optional Coverages
Apart from Uninsured Motorist, none of Virginia's required insurance coverages help pay for damages to your car or injuries you sustain as the result of an accident or other covered incident. If you think you might struggle to pay out-of-pocket for things like unexpected hospital bills or car repairs, then you'll want to consider adding Collision, other than Collision (also referred to as Comprehensive coverage), and Medical Payments to your auto insurance policy. The cheapest Virginia car insurance may not be the best option for you, as it could leave you exposed to major expenses down the road.
Virginia drivers looking for more peace-of-mind may also want to explore roadside assistance, an emergency protection plan, and even term life insurance.
When You Drive Without Car Insurance in Virginia…
If your vehicle is uninsured you will be required to pay the Virginia Uninsured Motor Vehicle fee (in addition to normal registration fees) in order to register your vehicle. This fee does not provide you with any insurance coverage and you are still personally liable in the event of an auto accident. If you are caught driving without insurance and do not pay this fee, you could face a class 3 misdemeanor and be required to pay fines of up to $500 (among other penalties), cites the Consumer Federation of America. You could also lose your driver's license, vehicle registration, and license plates, and then be required to maintain an SR22 proof of insurance certification for a number of years. When cheap auto insurance in Virginia is out there, why risk the high cost of going without it?
Who Needs Commercial Auto Insurance in VA?
If you’re a business owner or are self-employed and use your vehicle to conduct your business or provide services, you could qualify for a commercial auto insurance policy in Virginia.* For example, drivers in the farming, food delivery, landscaping, and funeral service industry typically purchase commercial auto insurance policies.
The state requires commercial vehicles, like personal vehicles, to maintain Virginia’s minimum liability insurance requirements when purchasing insurance. Depending on the type of vehicles your business has and how they’re used, your commercial auto insurance requirements may be different.
So what can you expect when getting a quote for commercial auto insurance in Virginia? Your agent will ask how you use the vehicles in your business, whether or not any of your employees will be driving the vehicles, and who else will be driving your company car(s). They may also ask questions to see if you qualify for any available discounts, along with helping you understand how additional insurance coverage options (like Medical Payments Coverage) could help financially safeguard your business in the event of an auto accident.
Virginia Insurance Quotes at Direct Auto & Life
If you have unanswered insurance questions, don't worry. With friendly agents available to chat online, over the phone, and in-person, we've got you covered. Understanding insurance requirements isn't always easy! If you’d like to learn about other Virginia auto insurance options, such as commercial auto insurance, or get a fast and free quote for auto insurance, give us a call at 1-877-GO DIRECT or visit one of our Direct Auto & Life Insurance locations in Virginia today.